Skip to Main Content
Filter By +
Topic +

Your 2024 Guide to Every State’s Minimum Wage

5 Minutes to Read

Topics covered


    Minimum wages can change every year. In fact, 25 states and Washington, D.C. will experience wage increases in 2024. While many states still follow the federal requirement of $7.25, it’s key to understand the exact wage requirements of the state(s) where you operate. Read what you need to know about every state’s minimum hourly wage policies.

    This is a state minimum wage update and does not cover any updates to specific local, municipal or industry minimum wages or rates for contractors or tipped workers. Please consult legal counsel for guidance on how to stay compliant with all the minimum wage laws where your business operates.

    Minimum wages can change every year, depending on the various state and federal laws. While some states follow federal guidance, others set their own requirements. Understanding which rules affect the state(s) you operate in is key to compliance.

    What is the federal minimum wage?

    The current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. States with their own hourly wage requirements may exceed this rate, but employers specifically covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) must adhere to the federal minimum wage.

    What legislation established the federal minimum wage?

    President Franklin D. Roosevelt signed the FLSA into law in 1938. At the time, the law placed the minimum wage at just 25 cents per hour. The law also created standards for child labor and overtime pay.

    How often does the federal minimum wage rise?

    While the FLSA is an evolving document, it doesn’t automatically increase the minimum wage. For example, the current rate was enacted in 2009 — almost 15 years ago. The president must sign any change to the federal minimum wage into law.

    But that doesn’t stop certain states from forming their own standards.

    What is the minimum wage in each state for 2024?

    Don’t get blindsided by an unexpected compliance change. To make it easier to identify updates, we’ve provided a list of 2024 and 2023’s hourly minimum wages by state. Keep in mind this list doesn’t consider every city or municipality with its own wage requirement.

    Understand these hourly minimum wage rates for any of the states where your business operates:

    State 2024 Minimum Hourly Wage 2023 Minimum Hourly Wage
    Alabama $7.25 $7.25
    Alaska $11.73 $10.85
    Arizona $14.35 $13.85
    Arkansas $11.00 $11.00
    California $16.00 $15.50
    Colorado $14.42 $13.65
    Connecticut $15.69 $15.00
    Delaware $13.25 $11.75
    Florida $13.00 (effective Sept. 30, 2024) $12.00
    Georgia $7.25 $7.25
    Hawaii $14.00 $12.00
    Idaho $7.25 $7.25
    Illinois $14.00 $13.00
    Indiana $7.25 $7.25
    Iowa $7.25 $7.25
    Kansas $7.25 $7.25
    Kentucky $7.25 $7.25
    Louisiana $7.25 $7.25
    Maine $14.15 $13.80
    Maryland $15.00 $13.25 for employers with 15 or more workers; $12.80 for smaller businesses.
    Massachusetts $15.00 $15.00
    Michigan $10.33 $10.10
    Minnesota $8.85 for small employers and $10.85 for large employers.* $8.63 for small employers and $10.59 for large employers.
    Mississippi $7.25 $7.25
    Missouri $12.30 $12.00
    Montana $10.30 $9.95
    Nebraska $12.00 $10.50
    Nevada $12.00 (effective July 1, 2024) $10.25 for employers offering qualifying health benefits; $11.25 for all others.
    New Hampshire $7.25 $7.25
    New Jersey $15.13 for most employers; $13.73 for seasonal and small employers who have less than six workers. $14.13 for most employers; $12.93 for seasonal and small employers who have less than six workers.
    New Mexico $12.00 $12.00
    New York $16.00 for New York City, Long Island and Westchester; $15.00 for the rest of the state. $15.00 for New York City, Long Island and Westchester; $14.20 for the rest of the state.
    North Carolina $7.25 $7.25
    North Dakota $7.25 $7.25
    Ohio $10.45 $10.10
    Oklahoma $7.25 $7.25
    Oregon $1.25 over the standard minimum wage for employers in the Portland metro; $1 less than the standard minimum wage for non-urban counties. ** (Effective July 1, 2024) $15.45 for employers in the Portland metro; $13.20 for non-urban counties; and $14.20 for all others.
    Pennsylvania $7.25 $7.25
    Rhode Island $14.00 $13.00
    South Carolina $7.25 $7.25
    South Dakota $11.20 $10.80
    Tennessee $7.25 $7.25
    Texas $7.25 $7.25
    Utah $7.25 $7.25
    Vermont $13.67 $13.18
    Virginia $12.00 $12.00
    Washington, D.C. $17.00 until July 1, 2024 (the new rate is not yet determined) $17.00
    Washington $16.28 $15.74
    West Virginia $8.75 $8.75
    Wisconsin $7.25 $7.25
    Wyoming $7.25 $7.25

    *Minnesota defines “large employers” as businesses with $500K or more in gross revenue.
    **Oregon’s minimum wage is adjusted annually based on the increase, if any, to the U.S. City average Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers

    Which states are increasing their minimum wage in 2024?

    Over half the country is experiencing a minimum wage spike in 2024, including:

    Alaska Hawaii Montana
    Arizona Illinois Nebraska
    California Maine Nevada
    Colorado Maryland New Jersey
    Connecticut Michigan Ohio
    Delaware Minnesota Oregon
    Florida Missouri Rhode Island
    South Dakota Vermont Washington, D.C.

    California fast-food minimum wage

    Effective April 1, fast-food workers in California will be covered under a new minimum wage requirement of $20 per hour. This wage increase applies only to employers with 60 or more establishments nationwide. This means that even franchises with a small presence in California will still need to comply.

    If you’re unsure if your business is covered under this law, consult a licensed legal professional.

    Which state has the lowest minimum wage?

    Georgia and Wyoming’s hourly minimum wage are tied at $5.15. However, employers covered by the FLSA must adhere to the federal requirement of $7.25.

    Which state has the highest minimum wage?

    While Washington is technically the state with the highest hourly minimum wage at $16.28, Washington, D.C. has the highest rate across the country: $17.00!

    Which states have minimum wages of $15.00 or more?

    Seven states and Washington, D.C. have minimum wages of $15.00 or more:

    • Washington
    • New York
    • Massachusetts
    • New Jersey
    • Connecticut
    • California
    • Maryland

    Adhering to federal and state minimum hourly wage guidance helps you remain compliant and ensures your success. And government and compliance tool helps you stay on top of new laws and regulations that affect your business.

    Follow the Paycom blog for regular compliance updates and more.

    DISCLAIMER: The information provided herein does not constitute the provision of legal advice, tax advice, accounting services or professional consulting of any kind. The information provided herein should not be used as a substitute for consultation with professional legal, tax, accounting or other professional advisers. Before making any decision or taking any action, you should consult a professional adviser who has been provided with all pertinent facts relevant to your particular situation and for your particular state(s) of operation.