Skip to Main Content
Topic
Filter By +
Topic +

Your 2022 Guide to Every State’s Minimum Wage

This is a state minimum wage update and does not cover any updates to specific local, municipal or industry minimum wages or rates for contractors or tipped workers. Please consult legal counsel for guidance on how to stay compliant with all the minimum wage laws where your business operates.

Every year, minimum wages change across the country and alter the face of compliance for affected businesses. Ensure you’re aware of the latest revisions in any of the following states in which you operate in 2022:

Alabama

While Alabama has no state minimum wage law, employers covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) must adhere to the current federal minimum hourly wage of $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Alaska

Alaska’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $10.34. Read the state government’s official press release for more information.

Arizona

Effective Jan. 1, Arizona’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $12.80. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Arkansas

Arkansas’ will remain at $11.00. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

California

Effective Jan. 1, California’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $14.00 for employers with 25 or fewer employees and $15.00 for larger businesses. Visit the state government’s official website for more information.

Colorado

Effective Jan. 1, Colorado’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $12.56. View the state government’s official notice for more information.

Connecticut

Effective July 1, Connecticut’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $14.00. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Delaware

Effective Jan. 1, Delaware’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $10.50. Read Senate Bill 15 for more information.

Florida

Effective Sept. 30, 2022, Florida’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $11.00. The state’s minimum wage will continue to increase until 2026 when it reaches $15.00. View the state government’s official notice for more information.

Georgia

Georgia’s minimum hourly wage will remain $5.15 for employers with six or more employees. However, the state’s minimum wage does not override the federal minimum wage of $7.25 for any business covered by the FLSA. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Hawaii

Hawaii’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $10.10. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Idaho

Idaho’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Illinois

Effective Jan. 1, Illinois’ minimum hourly wage will rise to $12.00. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Indiana

Indiana’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Iowa

Iowa’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Kansas

Kansas’ minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Kentucky

Kentucky’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Louisiana

While Louisiana has no state minimum wage law, employers covered by the FLSA must adhere to the current federal minimum hourly wage of $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Maine

Effective Jan. 1, Maine’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $12.75. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Maryland

Effective Jan. 1, Maryland’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $12.50 for employers with 15 or more employees and to $12.20 for smaller businesses. View the state’s minimum wage and overtime law poster for more information.

Massachusetts

Effective Jan. 1, Massachusetts’ minimum hourly wage will rise to $14.25 for most employees. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Michigan

Effective Jan. 1, Michigan’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $9.87. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Minnesota

Effective Jan. 1, Minnesota’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $8.42 for small employers and to $10.33 for large employers. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Mississippi

Mississippi’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Missouri

Effective Jan. 1, Missouri’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $11.15. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Montana

Effective Jan. 1, Montana’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $9.20. View the state’s minimum wage and overtime law poster for more information.

Nebraska

Nebraska’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $9.00. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Nevada

Effective July 1, Nevada’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $9.50 for “lower-tier” employers and $10.50 for “higher-tier” employers. View the state government’s official notice for more information.

New Hampshire

New Hampshire’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

New Jersey

Effective Jan. 1, New Jersey’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $13.00 for most employers. The minimum wage for seasonal and small businesses of less than six employees will rise to $11.90. View the state’s minimum wage postcard for more information.

New Mexico

Effective Jan. 1, New Mexico’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $11.50. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

New York

Effective Dec. 31, 2021, the minimum hourly wage will rise to $15.00 for employers in New York City, Long Island and Westchester, and to $13.20 for the remainder of the state. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

North Carolina

North Carolina’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

North Dakota

North Dakota’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Ohio

Effective Jan. 1, the minimum hourly wage will rise to $9.30. View the state government’s minimum wage and overtime law poster for more information.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Oregon

Effective July 1, Oregon’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $14.75 for employers in the Portland metro. The standard minimum wage will rise to $13.50, and in non-urban counties it will rise to $12.50. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Rhode Island

Effective Jan. 1, Rhode Island’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $12.25. This is part of a gradual increase for the next four years per House Bill 5130, which will end when the minimum wage reaches $15.00. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

South Carolina

South Carolina’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

South Dakota

Effective Jan. 1, South Dakota’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $9.95. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Tennessee

Tennessee’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Texas

Texas’ minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Utah

Utah’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

Vermont

Effective Jan. 1, Vermont’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $12.55. View the state government’s official notice for more information.

Virginia

Effective Jan. 1, Virginia’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $11.00. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Washington

Effective Jan. 1, Washington’s minimum hourly wage will rise to $14.49. View the state government’s official notice for more information.

West Virginia

West Virginia’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $8.75. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Wisconsin

Wisconsin’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $7.25. Visit the state government’s website for more information.

Wyoming

Wyoming’s minimum hourly wage will remain at $5.15. However, employers covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) must adhere to the current federal minimum hourly wage of $7.25. Visit the U.S. Department of Labor’s website for more information.

 

Adhering to federal and state minimum hourly wage guidance helps you remain compliant and ensure your success. And a powerful government and compliance tool helps you stay appraised of new laws and regulations that affect your business.

Follow the Paycom blog for regular compliance updates and more.

 

DISCLAIMER: The information provided herein does not constitute the provision of legal advice, tax advice, accounting services or professional consulting of any kind. The information provided herein should not be used as a substitute for consultation with professional legal, tax, accounting or other professional advisers. Before making any decision or taking any action, you should consult a professional adviser who has been provided with all pertinent facts relevant to your particular situation and for your particular state(s) of operation.