The Paycom
Jim Thorpe

2020 Preseason Watch List

Congratulations to the outstanding defensive backs named to the 2020 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award Preseason watch list.


Given annually to college football’s top defensive back, the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award is one of the National College Football Awards Association’s most coveted honors. Established in 1986, the award recognizes performance on the field, athletic ability and character, in accordance with its namesake.

A native Oklahoman who excelled in several sports, Thorpe garnered many accolades, including two Olympic gold medals in track and field. During his football career, Thorpe played running back, punter and placekicker, but shined as a defensive back. One of the most versatile athletes in sports history, he was named the “greatest athlete” of the first half of the 20th century by the Associated Press.

As an Oklahoma company that celebrates innovation, Paycom is a proud sponsor of the Jim Thorpe Award, named for one of our state’s true trailblazers.

Past Winners

2019: Grant Delpit, LSU

paycom jim thorpe winner